Crabs In A Bucket

26 Apr

We’ve all had a time in our life where we where convinced to do a fad diet or workout and we tell all of our friends about how awesome it is and how successful we’re going to be (I’ve done it probably more than most people).  As a disclaimer, I love all of my friends and family and I think that they have my best interests in mind, however, I always get the “How’s your diet going, did you give in yet?” and when they eat it front of you and go “Mmmmm, I just love this yummy cupcake, I know you waaaant one,” and how ’bout the “Don’t workout today, you look great, let’s just go have a drink instead.”

It seems as though anytime you want to make a positive change, your friends try to help you fail, not because they want you to fail, but simply because they don’t want to make the changes themselves.  They want you to be right there with them making poor decisions.  As I explain my post to Jon sitting next to me, he breaks it to me that my theory is not original, this theory has long been called “Crabs in a bucket.”  When one crab tries to escape from the bucket, and the rest of the crabs try to pull it back in.

So it’s Day 3 of eating only plant based foods, and I hear it the “crabs in a bucket” every day.  And here’s what I need everyone to know…WE AREN’T ON A DIET!  I can make unhealthy vegan cookies if I want to, I can have seconds of carbs (oh my!) if I want to, I can drink a vodka soda if I want to, and I can find an alternative for pretty much anything I normally would’ve eaten, so therefore, I don’t feel restricted.  Last night I made a Tofu and Veggie Stir Fry over brown rice (click here for the recipe) and tonight we had Chickpea Curry over brown rice with Baked Kale Chips and a glass of red wine (click here for the recipes) and both times Jon laid on the couch and said, “I’m so fuuuullll.”  How many times have you said that on a “diet”?

If you’ve been reading my posts and are thinking of trying a plant-based diet yourself, let me tell you, it isn’t all that hard!  As long as you have someone supportive, like I have Jon, it’s a simple switch.  Just give it a try, a day, a week, just do it!  There will always be meat at the grocery store to go back to.  If you don’t see a reason why you should make the switch, watch “Forks Over Knives” and you will rethink your next glass of cow’s milk.

 

Leave a comment